High School Highlights

Legacy and Generosity

21ColeHumphreyThe Cole Humphrey Memorial Foundation recently made its annual donation to the football and baseball programs at the Cape Fear spring athletic banquet. The foundation is named for former Cape Fear multi-sport athlete Cole Humphrey, who died in an automobile accident. Accepting for the football team is assistant coach Chris Hall, far left, and for the baseball team head coach Wendell Smith, far right. Also present, from left, are Larry Ellis, Jana Humphrey, McRae Humphrey, Cape Fear athletic director Matt McLean and Ann Ellis.

This year’s donation is $2,000, which brings the total donated since 2014 to $12,000.

E.E. Smith honors Hardy by naming basketball court after her

20DeeHardyE.E. Smith High School’s Dee Major Hardy has received a number of significant honors in her long coaching career, but few will top the one she got at the school’s recent spring reunion. During the weekend ceremonies, the school announced that the basketball court in E.E. Smith’s D.S. Kelly Gymnasium had been named in Hardy’s honor, as the Dee Major Hardy Court.

Hardy was a high school basketball star at Smith before enrolling at what was then Pembroke State and is now the University of North Carolina at Pembroke. During her years there, she was second team National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics All- American in basketball in 1985 and two-time All-District player in volleyball in 1982 and 1983.

She finished her college basketball career with 1,555 points.

She joined the faculty at E.E. Smith after graduating Pembroke and has coached volleyball and basketball at the school. She’s led her teams to multiple conference titles in both volleyball and basketball.

In 2011, she was inducted into the Fayetteville Sports Club Hall of Fame.

She was the District 4 basketball Coach of the Year in 2018 and 2019. She won the 2011 North Carolina High School Athletic Association Doris Howard Female Coach of the Year Award and was a 2016 winner of the NCHSAA Homer Thompson Memorial Eight Who Make A Difference Award from Region 4.

Hardy joins Cape Fear’s Howard and Douglas Byrd’s Robin Long as the only Cumberland County female coaches to have a gym, court or field named for them. The softball field at Cape Fear High School bears Howard’s name while the softball field at Byrd is named for Long.

This past season was one of Hardy’s most successful as basketball coach at E.E. Smith. Her team compiled a 30-2 record, winning the Patriot Athletic Conference regular season and tournament titles along with the Gene Arrington bracket of the annual Holiday Classic basketball tournament.

The Smith girls advanced to the NCHSAA 3-A Eastern Regional title game before falling 62-59 to Eastern Guilford.

Photo: Dee Major Hardy

Patriot All-Conference softball

Here is the Patriot Athletic All-Conference softball team as chosen by the league’s head coaches.

Coach of the year: Stuart Gilmer, Gray’s Creek

Player of the year: Jaden Pone, Gray’s Creek

Pitcher of the year: Katie Murphy, Cape Fear

First team:

• Terry Sanford — Anna Suggs, Maddie Beard

• E.E. Smith — Kayla Parson

• Pine Forest — Zareeya Watson, Brianna Crosby, Brittany Maultsby, Korie St. Peter, Mary Lee Sullivan

• Gray’s Creek — Mackenzie Mason, Drew Menscer, Kylie Aldridge, Morgan Brady, Courtney Cygan, Jaden Pone

• Overhills — Malik’s Dones, Kiana Jones

• Cape Fear — Katie Murphy, Morgan Nunnery, Alyssa Meredith, Taylor Melvin, Aubrey Griffin, Jess Oxendine

• South View — Mia Ayers, Danielle Golcher, Alex Deville

• Westover — Alaina Walker

Honorable mention:

• Terry Sanford — Mylie Leahy

• E.E. Smith — Madilyn Hotchkiss, Abraonna Williams

• Gray’s Creek — Summer Powell, Madi Badley, Rebecca Collins

• Overhills — Taylor Nunn, Megan Maurer, Liz Mitchell

• Cape Fear — Marlin Horne, Aleiyah Payne, Lauren Adams, Ava Basket, Toni Blackwell

• South View — Faith Franklin, Raven Camacho, Bailey Lockwood, Katie Smith

• Westover — Chkylie Boado, Jasmine Kelsey, Maya Johnson

Scholar Athletes of the Week

22Darius McLeodDarius McLeod

Westover • Basketball/golf • Senior

McLeod has a grade point average of 3.8. He was a second team choice in the 2018 Holiday Classic basketball tournament. He played golf three years for Westover. He is a member of National Honor Society, National English Honor Society and the Academy of Health Sciences.

23alainawalkerAlaina Walker

Westover • Volleyball/softball • Senior

Walker is ranked third in her class, with a 4.18 grade point average. She has been a member of Health Occupations Students of America for four years. She is a member of National Honor Society and the Academy of Scholars. She helped the Westover softball team to its first state playoff appearance in school history, batting .400 and driving in 15 runs.

Patriot All-Conference baseball

18davidjohn HerzHere is the Patriot Athletic All-Conference baseball team as chosen by the league’s head coaches.

Coach of the year: Sam Guy, Terry Sanford

Player of the year: Davidjohn Herz, Terry Sanford

Pitcher of the year: Nick West, Cape Fear

First team:

• Cape Fear — Cade Oliver, Cole Altman

• Douglas Byrd — Edwardo Alfons

• Gray’s Creek — Landen Harris, Tyler Strickland, Aaron Smith, Ryan Miller, Dillon Taylor

•Overhills — Ricky Kelly

• Pine Forest — Justin Honeycutt, Isaac Gonzales, James O’Brien, Lance Lockamy

• South View — Riley Caudle, Damon Evans, Keshawn Dunham

• Terry Sanford — Justin Ebert, Jackson Deaver, Marcus Sanchez, Dorian Clark, Tommy Cooney, Hunter Wiggins

Honorable mention:

• Cape Fear — Nick Minacapelli

• Gray’s Creek — Hunter Smith, J.J. Rivera

• Overhills — Johnny Vickers, Richard Hooks

• South View — Caleb Shinn

• Terry Sanford — Jack Cooney

Latest Articles

  • Budget is not about Medicaid expansion: It is about politics
  • Our nation divided
  • Thoughts on downtown parking
  • Get to know city government better
  • Evaluating college costs
  • State offers higher education equality for military and family members
Up & Coming Weekly Calendar
Advertise Your Event: