17Donovan Brewington South View  Here is the Patriot Athletic All-Conference football team as chosen by the league’s head coaches.

Coach of the year: Bill Sochovka, Pine Forest

Offensive player of the year: Donovan Brewington, South View

Athlete of the year: Earlee Melvin, Douglas Byrd

Defensive player of the year: Dante Bowlding, Terry Sanford


First team

Linemen: Domion Evans, Douglas Byrd; Tanner Morris, Terry Sanford; Kurin Keys, Terry Sanford; Tony Tyndall, Gray’s Creek; Caleb Krings, Cape Fear; Deon Buchanan, Pine Forest

Running backs: Matthew Pemberton, South View; Dorian Clark, Terry Sanford

Wide receivers: Emery Simmons, South View; Kevin Brewington, South View; Toshiro Spivey, E.E. Smith; Leonard Mosley, Terry Sanford

Quarterback: Davidjohn Herz, Terry Sanford

Tight end: Denarea McMillan, South View

Kicker: Mason Smith, Cape Fear

Punter: Mason Smith, Cape Fear

Second team

Offensive line: David Locklear, South View; Anthony Glenn, E.E. Smith; Q’Vonntae Hall-Bonaparte, Westover; DaVon Smith, Overhills. Honorable mention — Connor Brady, Terry Sanford; John Sullivan, Pine Forest; Blake Marshburn, Pine Forest

Running backs: Andre Allen, Gray’s Creek; D.J. Jones, Pine Forest. Honorable mention — Ronald Carroll, Douglas Byrd; Keyshown Lindsey, Westover; Trey Beckett, Gray’s Creek; Malik Daniels, Pine Forest

Wide receivers: Jacob Knight, Terry Sanford; Zavion Whitehead, Westover; Trevor Thomas, Gray’s Creek; Taiquan Gamble, Cape Fear

Quarterback: Xavier Marsh, Westover. Honorable mention Richard McEachern, Pine Forest.

Tight end: Joshua George, South View. Honorable mention — Ezemdi Udoh, Terry Sanford

Kicker: Kyle Dickerson, Pine Forest


First team

Defensive line: Nikai Butler, Douglas Byrd; Elijah Morris, Terry Sanford; Domonique McMillan, Gray’s Creek; Tyrique Williams, Pine Forest

Linebackers: Jackson Deaver, Terry Sanford; Justin McLintock, Gray’s Creek; Jaylen Hudson, Cape Fear; Austin Hunt, Cape Fear

Defensive backs: Corey Johnson, South View; Shawn Newman, Terry Sanford; Gabe Galloway, Cape Fear; Jordan Gladney, Pine Forest

Second team

Defensive line: Jaylin Webb, South View; Zion Hayes, Overhills; Isaiah Potts, Pine Forest; Nick Minnicapelli, Cape Fear. Honorable mention — Ayshawn Henley, South View; Bryce Kotson, Terry Sanford; Jerry Smith, Overhills; Luis Rivera, Pine Forest; Steven Woodbury, Pine Forest; Grant Seals, South View 

Linebackers: Ray Dixon, Douglas Byrd; Ronald Carroll, Douglas Byrd; Markell Samuel, E.E. Smith; Bernard Flerlage, Pine Forest; Jarieal Douglas, South View. Honorable mention — Elijah Wyand, South View; Jarvis Dudley, E.E. Smith; Taurienne Freeman, Westover; Blake Little, Gray’s Creek; Tyshaun Bryant, Overhills; Dante Autry, Cape Fear; Jahqwan Bowden, Pine Forest

Defensive backs: Randy Franklin, E.E. Smith; Brandon Handy, Westover; D.J. Crutcher, Gray’s Creek; Le’Vonte McLean, Pine Forest. Honorable mention — Timel Smith, South View; Emery Simmons, South View; Dalton Patrick, Gray’s Creek; Jerry Garcia, Gray’s Creek; Micah Nelson, Cape Fear; Austin Gonzales, Pine Forest; Jaquan Boykin, Douglas Byrd

Photo: Donovan Brewington

Latest Articles

  • We deserve transparency on Civil War Center
  • Who Knew?
  • When the selfish quest for power alienates reason
  • I-95 expansion plan
  • Raeford Road to see center median construction
  • The curtain rises: 2019-2020 theater season