police car newWhen people have concerns or complaints about potential police misconduct, those concerns need to be heard, investigated and resolved.

The Fayetteville City Council has selected the citizens who will serve on the new Community Police Advisory Board. It was established in August of last year, but members were just named at a special council meeting on Dec. 13.

The objective is to promote an atmosphere of trust between Fayetteville residents and the city police department. The CPAB will review and recommend ways to improve police department policies and practices.

The panel has the authority to examine public records, but it does not have subpoena power.
Chief of Police Gina Hawkins has said she welcomes the development knowing the Fayetteville Police Department. is a top-shelf organization. City council appointed ten members, one of whom will be a non-voting alternate. Three of the new members were selected by name. The others were picked randomly from those who had applied.

Those selected for three-year terms are Lionel Cartwright, Jim Bove and Julie Aul. Two-year term members include Jacqueline Clay, Pablo Arroyo and Sidney King. Debra Slaughter, Tony Haire and Gregory Perkins were selected for one-year terms. Juana Magnum will serve as the alternate.

Latest Articles

  • Vagabond CafĂ© opens downtown
  • Fort Bragg 10-Miler is back
  • Veterans Day Parade returns downtown
  • Father, son make history at Cumberland County Golf Championship
  • Sitting down with new council member
  • Police Chief under investigation by Ethics Commission
Up & Coming Weekly Calendar

Advertise Your Event: